How to rollback deleted records after commit in Oracle

Do you think it’s impossible to rollback your changes after you commit a Delete command? Well, it’s possible.

In version 11g, Oracle keeps snapshots of your table for some time and allows you to rollback to a particular snapshot as long as this period of time is not passed.

This is the command that retrieves a snapshot of your table at a specific time:

In the above command, we retrieve a snapshot of our table as of 10 minutes ago. The “10” refers to the number of minutes back from now, and “1440” refers to the number of minutes of a day.

Suppose you delete and commit some records by mistake at a production environment. In order to revert back your changes, simply create a temporary table from a “5 mins ago” snapshot:

Then, insert back the deleted records to the main table.

 

Hussein Terek

Founder of programmergate.com, I have a passion in software engineering and everything related to java environment.

Leave a Reply

avatar